Welcome to Brompton Community Primary School

Happiness Through Learning

Welcome to Brompton Community Primary School

‘Happiness Through Learning’

Message from our Headteacher

Welcome to Brompton Community Primary School’s website.We will be updating and adding to our website so regular visits are recommended!  We are very proud of our school and the learning journey that we provide for all of our pupils and we hope that you enjoy reading about us.


This year has seen the launch of our new school driver – ‘Legacy’. This will be the vehicle used to drive aspects of the curriculum that we believe to be the foundation and ethos of our school. As we hang everything off ‘Happiness Through Learning’ we are also using ‘Legacy’ to promote Personal, Social, Health, Moral, Cultural, Spiritual, Emotional aspects of learning and our Rights, Responsibilities.

Legacy will turn our Vision into action, purpose into practice and pressure into results. It will help us all to accept that ‘Good isn’t Good enough’ and to be the best that we can be. As a result, Brompton Community Primary School will be a better place than when we found it.

‘Build your Legacy – This is Your Time’

Mrs Jane Byrne

Ofsted Report – 30th January 2018

We are pleased to share with you the findings from our most recent Ofsted inspection, dated 30th January 2018, where the school has been deemed to demonstrate strong practice and marked improvement in many areas. This indicates that we are improving towards becoming an outstanding school, which will be confirmed in a further inspection within the next academic year.

“The headteacher has successfully created a culture in which pupils and staff have high expectations of what they can achieve. Staff and pupils alike are very proud to be part of the school…The school is continually improving the high quality of education.”

“Pupils enjoy learning and excellent relationships exist between staff and pupils…Pupils’ behaviour is exemplary and they ably use quality resources to learn independently.”

“You have created an open culture in your school and pupils feel safe.”

“Leaders are passionate about constantly improving standards in the school…The curriculum is broad and balanced and pupils take opportunities to take part in extra-curricular activities, which complement the curriculum. Core skills in literacy and mathematics are firmly embedded.”

“Pupils make excellent progress from their starting points.”

Ofsed Report



Holidays 2017 – 2018

Autumn Term 2017

  • School Opens Tuesday 5th September
  • School Closes Friday 20th October
  • School Opens Monday 30th October
  • School Closes Friday 22nd December

Spring Term 2018

  • School Opens Tuesday 9th January
  • School Closes Friday 9th February
  • School Opens Monday 19th February
  • School Closes Thursday 29th March

Holidays 2017 – 2018

Summer Term 2018

  • School Opens Tuesday 17th April
  • (Bank Holiday) Closed Monday 7th May
  • School Closes Friday 25th May
  • School Opens Monday 4th June
  • School Closes Friday 20th July

Staff Training Days

  • Monday 4th September 2017
  • Monday 8th January 2018
  • Monday 16th April 2018
  • Monday 23rd July 2018
  • Tuesday 24th July 2018

Calendar Dates

Spring Term


  • Monday 19th February – School Opens
  • Wednesday 21st February – Sowerby Music
  • 21st February – Hi 5 Netball Tournament – 1pm – 3pm
  • Friday 23rd February – Year 4 Swimming Starts


  • Thursday 1st March – World Book Day – Mr Men and Little Miss
  • Friday 2nd March – Mental Health Awareness Day – ‘Hello Yellow’

Carpé Diem

‘seize the day’


Average Attendance

Number of Staff

Number of Pupils